The British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP)
Inspiring and informing underwater photographers since 1967

© Images and articles on this website are the copyright of the photographers and authors.





About BSoUP : Code of Conduct : Competitions : Constitution : Contact us : Courses
Cover shots : Directions : Glossary : HistoryMagazine : Meetings : Members websites
: Privacy Policy : Programme : Site Index

BSoUP's Sponsors

Kungkungan Bay Resort

Winning Imaes by Paul Colley

Cameras Underwater - Sponsor of the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition 2015 - 2018 and BIUPC 2015 and 2016

Brtish Divers Marine Life Rescue - Sponsors of BSoUP / DIVER Print Competition 2017

Carpe Diem, Sponsors of BUIPC 2017


Diver Magazine - Sponsor of the Annual Beginners Portfolio Competition and the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition

DiveQuest - Sponsor of the Underwater Excellence

Shell Wildlife Photographer of the Year Competition 2006

Big fish, little fishes
Highly commended - The Underwater World
Gavin Parsons

Big fish - little fishes by Gavin Parsons

The world's largest fish - whale sharks, which can be up to 20 metres long - gather off Mafia Island, Tanzania, between November and January. They come to filter-feed on the masses of plankton there. Local fishermen use them to locate shoals of small fishes, which shelter around them, and Gavin used fishing boats to locate the giants. 'We found a shark being shadowed by a couple of boats,' says Gavin. 'It moved under our boat and just hung there, possibly sheltering from the glare. As I slipped into the sea and it lifted its huge head, the little fishes fled for fear of being chased to the surface.'

Nikon D70 with 16mm fisheye lens; 1/125 sec at f8; 200 ISO; Sea and Sea housing with fisheye dome port.

The Natural History Museum’s Shell Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition is open to the public from Saturday 21 October 2006 – Sunday 29 April 2007.

The Shell Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition is owned by the Natural History Museum and BBC Wildlife Magazine, and is sponsored by Shell.

Wildlife Photographer of the Year

1987 1990 1991 1994 1995 2001 2002

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional   Top of page