The British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP)
Inspiring and informing underwater photographers since 1967

© Images and articles on this website are the copyright of the photographers and authors.





About BSoUP : Code of Conduct : Competitions : Constitution : Contact us : Courses
Cover shots : Directions : Glossary : HistoryMagazine : Meetings : Members websites
: Privacy Policy : Programme : Site Index

BSoUP's Sponsors

Kungkungan Bay Resort

Winning Imaes by Paul Colley

Cameras Underwater - Sponsor of the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition 2015 - 2018 and BIUPC 2015 and 2016

Brtish Divers Marine Life Rescue - Sponsors of BSoUP / DIVER Print Competition 2017

Carpe Diem, Sponsors of BUIPC 2017


Diver Magazine - Sponsor of the Annual Beginners Portfolio Competition and the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition

DiveQuest - Sponsor of the Underwater Excellence

Martin Davies LRPS

Background: Born and bred in Nuneaton, Warwickshire, as far as away from the sea as any diver could imagine. But this did not dampen his eagerness and at the tender age of 11, inspired by the early films of Jacques Cousteau he joined a youth club where he did his snorkel training at the local army barracks. Bursting with enthusiasm Martin then joined the Hinckley branch of the British Sub-Aqua Club in 1977 (HSAC). He has continued to enjoy regular diving around the country and the world for over twenty seven years. Martin is now a member of Southsea Sub-aqua Club,

Diving: After completing the BSAC snorkel diver training, he obtained his 3rd Class diver qualification in 1979, and has subsequently survived modern day diver training to become BSAC Advanced Diver, Instructor and is Diving Officer of his branch.

Photography: Initially a devoted wreck diver in the early 80's, watching and learning from other divers what can be achieved with a hammer and chisel in 30 minutes at 30m, Martin soon came to realise that there must be more environmentally friendly ways to take treasures from the wrecks than wrecking them further. Hence in 1984 he became the proud owner of his first underwater camera, a Nikonos III and Sunpak 28 flashgun. He has been taking away treasured memories of his dives ever since. Mainly self taught but he has attending various short courses, seminar presentations and conferences. In more recent times he has attended local colleges, where various City and Guilds qualification have been gained in photography and he has now achieved the standard of LRPS with the Royal Photographic Society He has been a member of BSoUP for about 6 years now and has attended the London meeting when possible and has found the meetings a useful forum for knowledge exchange and meeting like minded people.

Equipment: Martin has progressed from the Nikonos III in 1984 to the Nikonos V in 1989, adding Extension Tubes and a Sea and Sea 16mm wide lens with a Morris Aquaflash F1 completing the outfit. Now using a Nikon F5 in Sealux housing, with a single Sea and Sea flash gun this has been his standard kit for the past six years.

Dive travel: Martin spent much of his early days diving and photographing British Waters. Although he has to admit that the clear blue warm waters of far-away are more conducive to underwater photography, he still says that there is no place like home where he strives to meet the real challenge of underwater photography in UK waters. The Solent area offers the ultimate challenge in terms of visibility; large tidal range and deep water, there are hundreds of wreck sites a stones throw from home on Hayling Island and all offer a unique photographic challenge. A favourite dive local to him is Mullbery where in the summer you can see more fish on a dive that in some very exotics foreign places. Other superb dive locations around the UK he likes to visit are, the sound of Mull, The Scilly Isles, The Farne Isles and Devon and Cornwall. Around the world he has visited Malta, the Red Sea, Honduras, Sulawesi and Hawaii to list a few.

Splash-in 2005  

1st place Wide Angle film

Diving inside the wreck of the James Eagan Layne,
This Picture taken from inside number 4 hold looking up at the ribs and superstructure of the wreck, depth 20m.

Nikon F5, 16mm lens, Camera settings 13th second shutter, aperture F2.8, 100asa Fuji Sensia film.

2nd place Wide Angle film

Diver swimming along the bow of the James Eagan Layne
Picture take on the Starboard side in 10m of water Nikon F5, 16mm lens, camera settings 20th second shutter, aperture F3.5, 100 asa Fuji Sensia film.

1st place Creative Humorous film

A diver has discovered what really happened at Glastonbury!

Nikon F5, 16mm lens, camera settings 20th second shutter, aperture F8, 100 asa Fuji Sensia

BSoUP's Splash-in Competition Winners

Digital (overall and category winners)

2014 Overall Winner - Cathy Lewis Mankind in the Sea - Terry Griffiths Marine Life - Cathy Lewis
  Best Compact - Colin Whyte    
2013 Overall Winner - Dan Bolt Mankind in the Sea - Dan Bolt Marine Life - Alex Tatttersall
  Best Compact - Paula Bailey Reflections - Dan Bolt  
2012 Overall Winner - Tim Priest Mankind in the Sea - Charles Erb  
  Best Compact - Paula Bailey Crustacea - Rob White  
2011 Overall Winner - Dan Bolt Mankind in the Sea - Derek Haslam Abstract - Rob Cuss
    Marine Life - Dan Bolt  
  Best Compact - Colin Yule Compact - Mankind in the Sea - Martin Rishton Compact - Abstract - Mark Brooke
2010 Overall Winner - Charles Erb Close-up - Julie Kaye Animal Portraits - Cathy Lewis
    Wide-angle - Martin Davies  
2009   Close-up - Rick Ayrton Animal Portraits - Jim Garland
    Wide-angle - Neil Skilling  
2008   Close-up - Cathy Lewis Animal Portraits - Helen Wehner
    Wide-angle - Charles Erb  
2007   Wide-angle - Arthur Kingdon Fish - Alan James
    Close-up - Alan James  

Film & Digital (overall & category winners)

2006 Overall Winner - Dave Peake Film Wide-angle - Martin Davies Film Close-up - Jan Maloney
    Digital Wide-angle - Trevor Rees Digital Close-up - Alan James
2005   Film Wide-angle - Martin Davies Film Close-up - Jean Manson
    Digital Wide-angle - Charles Erb Digital Close-up - Charles Erb

Film (category winners)

2004 Macro - Cathy Lewis Wide-angle - Dave Peake Fish - Peter Ladell
2003 Macro - David Stevens Wide-angle - Dave Peake Fish - Peter Hewitt
2002 Macro - Ken Sullivan Wide-angle - Len Deeley Fish - Bill Hewitt
2001 Macro - Tom Cowan Wide-angle - Guy Middleton  

Film (overall winners, no categories)
  2000 Ken Sullivan 1991 Kevin Cullimore 1982 Peter Salmon
  1999 Derek Haslam 1990 Kevin Cullimore 1981 Warren Williams
  1998 Pat Morrisey 1989 Paul Clark 1980 David McBride
  1997 Peter Tatton 1988 Peter Rowlands 1979 Warren Williams
  1996 Linda Pitkin 1987 Warren Williams 1978 Dave Nance
  1995 Dave Nardini 1986 Peter Scoones 1977 Geoff Harwood
  1994 Dave Peake 1985 Kevin Cullimore 1976
  1993 Brian Pitkin 1984 Les Kemp 1975
  1992 John Souness 1983 Peter Hewitt 1974 Warren Williams

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Top of page