The British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP)
Inspiring and informing underwater photographers since 1967

© Images and articles on this website are the copyright of the photographers and authors.





About BSoUP : Code of Conduct : Competitions : Constitution : Contact us : Courses
Cover shots : Directions : Glossary : HistoryMagazine : Meetings : Members websites
: Privacy Policy : Programme : Site Index

BSoUP's Sponsors

Kungkungan Bay Resort

Winning Imaes by Paul Colley

Cameras Underwater - Sponsor of the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition 2015 - 2018 and BIUPC 2015 and 2016

Brtish Divers Marine Life Rescue - Sponsors of BSoUP / DIVER Print Competition 2017

Carpe Diem, Sponsors of BUIPC 2017


Diver Magazine - Sponsor of the Annual Beginners Portfolio Competition and the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition

DiveQuest - Sponsor of the Underwater Excellence



by Brian Pitkin

Reproduced from in focus 43 (February 1992)

At the December 1990 meeting of the Society we held our annual Open Portfolio Competition. This event is open to any member, irrespective 'Of whether he or she has won a place in a major competition.

Entries had to comprise six 35 mm slides taken anywhere in the world underwater, except in a tank or aquarium.

Images which had previously won a place in a major competition were ineligible. The idea of this competition is to see new and exciting images, not the same award winning shots.

All slides had to be mounted in Gepe glass mounts and spotted in the bottom left hand corner when the slide is the right way up and the right way round. All six slides were projected simultaneously.

This year's Open Portfolio Competition unfortunately only attracted eight entries. Each was projected twice and the audience present invited to vote for their favourite three in order of preference.

Fourth place with 32 points went to LEN DEELEY. Third place with 48 points went to PETER HEWITT. Second place with 50 points went to ANDY PURCELL. The winner with 160 points was GEORGETTE DOUWMA. Georgette was presented with a cheque for £50.

BSoUP Open Portfolio Competition

BSoUP's Open Portfolio Competition Winners 1984-

2017 Mark Drayton

2016 Taner Altigan

2015 Cathy Lewis

2014 Mark Drayton

2013 Jackie Campbell

2012 Mark Pickford

2011 Dray van Beeck

2010 Giordano Cipriani

2009 Trevor Rees

2008 JP Trenque

2007 Shannon Conway

2006 Steve Jones

2005 Jane Morgan

2004 Alex Mustard

2003 Charles Hood

2002 Linda Dunk

2001 Tony White

2000 Gary Clark

1999 Guy Middleton

1998 Hilary Driscoll

1997 Malcolm Hey

1996 Linda Dunk

1995 Linda Dunk

1994 Linda Dunk

1993 Linda Pitkin

1992 Charles Hood

1991 Georgette Douwma

1990 Mike Wong

1989 Mike Wong

1988 Mike Wong

1987 Georgette Douwma

1986 Georgette Douwma

1985 Warren Williams

1984 Georgette Douwma

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Top of page