The British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP)
Inspiring and informing underwater photographers since 1967

© Images and articles on this website are the copyright of the photographers and authors.





About BSoUP : Code of Conduct : Competitions : Constitution : Contact us : Courses
Cover shots : Directions : Glossary : HistoryMagazine : Meetings : Members websites
: Privacy Policy : Programme : Site Index

BSoUP's Sponsors

Kungkungan Bay Resort

Winning Imaes by Paul Colley

Cameras Underwater - Sponsor of the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition 2015 - 2018 and BIUPC 2015 and 2016

Brtish Divers Marine Life Rescue - Sponsors of BSoUP / DIVER Print Competition 2017

Carpe Diem, Sponsors of BUIPC 2017


Diver Magazine - Sponsor of the Annual Beginners Portfolio Competition and the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition

DiveQuest - Sponsor of the Underwater Excellence

BSoUP's Open Portfolio Competition 1989

Winner - Mike Wong

by Brian Pitkin

Reproduced from in focus 35 (January 1990)

At the December meeting of the Society we held our annual Open Portfolio Competition. This competiton is open to any underwater photographer, irrespective of whether he or she has won a place in a major competition. Entries had to comprise six 35 mm slides taken anywhere in the world underwater, except in a tank or aquarium. Images which had previously won a place in a major competition were ineligible. The idea of this competition is to see new and exciting images, not the same award winning shots.

All slides had to be mounted in Gepe glass mounts and spotted in the bottom left hand corner when the slide is the right way up and the right way round. All six slides in each of the six portfolios received were projected simultaneously with slide 1 - top left, slide 2 - top centre, slide 3 - top right, slide 4 - bottom left, slide 5 - bottom centre, slide 6 - bottom right.

All six portfolios received were projected three times and the audience present invited to vote for their favourite three. Third place with 45 points went to BENNY SUTTON. Second place with 57 points went to LES KEMP. The winner with 79 points was MIKE WONG. Mike was awarded a £50 prize.

The first three portfolios included double compositions, whereas the rest did not! Mike Wong confessed that he personally did not like double compositions and only used them to win competitions. He appealed to the Society to run competitions in which double compositions were ineligible.

My own view on this is that it would be difficult to ensure that images were not double compositions. However, if entrants were obliged to submit original slides rather than duplicates, this would preclude the possibility of entering double compositions produced in the dark room, although not in the camera. Alternatively the Society could exclude double compositions from competitions and trust entrants not to submit them, but surely the image is important, not how it is produced- But you may disagree. Let's have your views please. Editor

BSoUP Open Portfolio Competition

BSoUP's Open Portfolio Competition Winners 1984-

2017 Mark Drayton

2016 Taner Altigan

2015 Cathy Lewis

2014 Mark Drayton

2013 Jackie Campbell

2012 Mark Pickford

2011 Dray van Beeck

2010 Giordano Cipriani

2009 Trevor Rees

2008 JP Trenque

2007 Shannon Conway

2006 Steve Jones

2005 Jane Morgan

2004 Alex Mustard

2003 Charles Hood

2002 Linda Dunk

2001 Tony White

2000 Gary Clark

1999 Guy Middleton

1998 Hilary Driscoll

1997 Malcolm Hey

1996 Linda Dunk

1995 Linda Dunk

1994 Linda Dunk

1993 Linda Pitkin

1992 Charles Hood

1991 Georgette Douwma

1990 Mike Wong

1989 Mike Wong

1988 Mike Wong

1987 Georgette Douwma

1986 Georgette Douwma

1985 Warren Williams

1984 Georgette Douwma

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Top of page