The British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP)
Inspiring and informing underwater photographers since 1967

© Images and articles on this website are the copyright of the photographers and authors.





About BSoUP : Code of Conduct : Competitions : Constitution : Contact us : Courses
Cover shots : Directions : Glossary : HistoryMagazine : Meetings : Members websites
: Privacy Policy : Programme : Site Index

BSoUP's Sponsors

Kungkungan Bay Resort

Winning Imaes by Paul Colley

Cameras Underwater - Sponsor of the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition 2015 - 2018 and BIUPC 2015 and 2016

Brtish Divers Marine Life Rescue - Sponsors of BSoUP / DIVER Print Competition 2017

Carpe Diem, Sponsors of BUIPC 2017


Diver Magazine - Sponsor of the Annual Beginners Portfolio Competition and the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition

DiveQuest - Sponsor of the Underwater Excellence

BSoUP's Best of British Portfolio Competition 2005

Joint Winner - Samantha Bean


John Dory

Rayed limpets

Tom pot blenny

Ross coral

Ballan wrasse

© Sam Bean

Winning Portfolio 2005

Sam Bean and Alex Mustard are joint winners of British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP) Best of British Portfolio 2005. Sam, who works as a plant biologist in Norwich, learnt to dive with PADI in 1999 and shortly afterwards she joined the Great Yarmouth branch of BSAC. Currently Sam is the Assistant Diving Officer for the club and enjoys organising dives to explore the local North Sea shipwrecks.

Sam's interest in photography started about 4 years ago. Frustrated by the early images that lacked colour and suffered from backscatter, Sam went on a weekend course with leading underwater photographer Martin Edge. Within the weekend the problems were sorted out and since then Sam hasn't looked back. In 2003 Sam was awarded the BSoUP Beginners Portfolio and this year Sam has achieved second places at the BSoUP Splash- In at Plymouth and the Splash-In Competition at St Abbs.

Creating a portfolio with impact for the BSoUP Best of British Competition has taken weeks of painful deliberation over what were strong images, which had impact, and looked a bit different, but above all the images had to work together.

All images in this portfolio were captured whilst Sam was diving at Plymouth and St Abbs with friends from the British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP) and Bristol Underwater Photography Group (BUPG).

Octopus The image of an octopus sat amongst orange dead men's fingers is the only image in the portfolio to be captured on film on a Nikon F100 camera with 60mm lens (f22, 1/60s). All other images were taken using a Nikon D70 camera with Sea and Sea housing and strobe and 60mm lens.
John Dory The portrait shot of a John Dory emphasised the 'distinguished gentleman' appearance of this fish, the flash light from the strobe highlighting the wonderful green eye (f20, 1/60s).
Rayed limpet A pair of blue rayed limpets who were grazing on a kelp frond made a simple image (f16, 1/60s). Although tiny in size, their striking iridescent rays attracted attention, shining out from the bed of gently swaying golden kelp.
Tom pot blenny Mr Charisma in the portfolio is the tompot blenny, who was photographed when curiously peeping out from a rocky crevice (f22, 1/60s). The large, friendly eyes and the comical eyebrow tentacles give a touch of cute to the portfolio and contrast against the rather mournful look of the John Dory.
Ross coral A small clump of ross (or rose) coral provided a splash of vibrant orange in the portfolio and provided a link to the warm colours in the other images (f22, 1/60s).
Ballan wrasse The third and final fish portrait was a cheeky Ballan wrasse, which obviously had ambitions of stardom and persisted in posing in front of the camera (f11, 1/60s).

Best of British Portfolio Winners

2018 Kirsty Andrews

2017 Trevor Rees

2016 Kirsty Andrews

2015 Trevor Rees

2014 Robert Bailey

2013 Trevor Rees

2012 Jane Morgan

2011 Trevor Rees

2010 Eleonora Manca

2009 Trevor Rees

2008 Trevor Rees

2007 Trevor Rees

2006 Arthur Kingdon

2005= Alex Mustard

2005= Sam Bean

2004 Martha Tressler

2003 Anita Marshall

2002 Cathy Lewis

2001 Linda Pitkin

2000 Warren Williams

1999 Peter Ladell

1998 Linda Dunk

1997 Charles Hood

1996 Dave Meates

1995 Warren Williams

1994 Peter Rowlands

1993 Peter Ladell

1992 Charles Hood

1991 Andy Purcell

1990 Warren Williams

1989 John Lee

1988 Warren Williams

1987 Martin Edge

1986 Peter Hewitt

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Top of page