The British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP)
Inspiring and informing underwater photographers since 1967

© Images and articles on this website are the copyright of the photographers and authors.





About BSoUP : Code of Conduct : Competitions : Constitution : Contact us : Courses
Cover shots : Directions : Glossary : HistoryMagazine : Meetings : Members websites
: Privacy Policy : Programme : Site Index

BSoUP's Sponsors

Kungkungan Bay Resort

Winning Imaes by Paul Colley

Cameras Underwater - Sponsor of the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition 2015 - 2018 and BIUPC 2015 and 2016

Brtish Divers Marine Life Rescue - Sponsors of BSoUP / DIVER Print Competition 2017

Carpe Diem, Sponsors of BUIPC 2017


Diver Magazine - Sponsor of the Annual Beginners Portfolio Competition and the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition

DiveQuest - Sponsor of the Underwater Excellence

BSoUP's Best of British Competition 1995

Winner - Warren Williams

by Brian Pitkin

Reproduced from in focus 56 (January 1996)

The annual Best of British Competititon is open to all members of BSoUP. Each member is invited to submit a portfolio of six slides taken underwater in British waters. This year 20 portfolios were submitted, and these were projected onto a large screen using six projectors. The audience present were invited to vote for their favourite three portfolios in order of preference.

The winner, with 57 points was WARREN WILLIAMS from north London, who has previously won the Best of British Competition twice since its inception.

Warren's portfolio comprised comprised three shots taken with a Pentax LX in a housing Warren built himself; two shots taken with a Nikon 801S in a Subal housing; and one shot taken with a Nikonos II with a close-up lens and a flashgun in a housing Warren built. The Pentax shots included an in-camera double exposure of a perch taken at Gildenburgh Water exposed at 1/60th @ f11 and 1160th @ 5.6 using fish-eye and macro Ienses (see below); backlit rushes, taken in a gravel pit using a fish-eye lens, exposed at 1160th @ f8; an in-camera double exposure exposure of a pike taken in a gravel at 1160th @ fl, 1 and 1160th @ 5.6 with fish-eye and macro lenses. The Nikon shots included a shot of a diver with an underwater scooter in a cave mouth, taken with a fish-eye lens off the west coast of Ireland at 1/125th @ f8 and a seal silhouette, also taken with a with a fish-eye lens off the west coast of Ireland at 11/125th @ f8. The Nikonos shot of an angler fish was taken off the west coast of Irleand at 1/60th @ f1l.

Wrren's entry 'was somewhat different from previous years in that one of the pictures had a time differential of six years between the two exposed elements. The image was, of course, a in-camera double exposure composite. The first element of the image had been exposed, but due to onset of M.E. (myalgic encephalomyelitis) I was unable to dive again until this year, so the second element was exposed six years after the first. In the intervening period, the film had been refrigerated, together with some rough notes on what had been taken.'

'Whilst exposing the second element of the image at Gildenburgh Water this year, because I was diving without a buddy - being in shallow water - I was subjected to considerable hassle before being forcibly ejected. My outrage did not subside for 5 days! Whilst washing and checking my diving gear after the dive, I noticed that the maximum depth indicator showed only 12 feet. I had undergone unneccessary aggrevation as a lone diver on a photographic shoot. We underwater photographers have to put up with a lot to produce our masterpieces! The unfinished film was duly processed, producing a few useful images'.

Warren was presented with the BSoUP Best of British Trophy by BSoUP's Chairman, Brian Pitkin.











Warren Williams

Kevin Cullimore

Charles Hood

Best of British Portfolio Winners

2018 Kirsty Andrews

2017 Trevor Rees

2016 Kirsty Andrews

2015 Trevor Rees

2014 Robert Bailey

2013 Trevor Rees

2012 Jane Morgan

2011 Trevor Rees

2010 Eleonora Manca

2009 Trevor Rees

2008 Trevor Rees

2007 Trevor Rees

2006 Arthur Kingdon

2005= Alex Mustard

2005= Sam Bean

2004 Martha Tressler

2003 Anita Marshall

2002 Cathy Lewis

2001 Linda Pitkin

2000 Warren Williams

1999 Peter Ladell

1998 Linda Dunk

1997 Charles Hood

1996 Dave Meates

1995 Warren Williams

1994 Peter Rowlands

1993 Peter Ladell

1992 Charles Hood

1991 Andy Purcell

1990 Warren Williams

1989 John Lee

1988 Warren Williams

1987 Martin Edge

1986 Peter Hewitt

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Top of page