The British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP)
Inspiring and informing underwater photographers since 1967

© Images and articles on this website are the copyright of the photographers and authors.





About BSoUP : Code of Conduct : Coming Soon : Competitions : Constitution : Contact us : Courses
Cover shots
: Directions : HistoryMagazine : Meetings : Members websites : News Archive
Programme : Site Index

BSoUP's Sponsors

Carpe Diem, Sponsors of BUIPC 2017


O'Three - Sponsor of the BIUPC 2015 and 2016

Oyster Diving, Sponsors of BIUPC 2017

Diver Magazine - Sponsor of the Annual Beginners Portfolio Competition and the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition

DiveQuest - Sponsor of the Underwater Excellence

Scuba Travel

Kungkungan Bay Resort

Cameras Underwater - Sponsor of the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition 2015 - 2017 and BIUPC 2015 and 2016

Deadly Oceans

Doug Allan - Freeze Frame

Brtish Divers Marine Life Rescue - Sponsors of BSoUP / DIVER Print Competition 2017

My winning Beginners Portfolio 1999

by Mike Maloney

Mike Maloney

You are never to old to buy a Subal system - as a veteran with 40 years of continuous diving in various sites around the world including the Caribbean, Indian Ocean and various sites in Asia, with the majority of my diving around the UK, a change of life has come upon me.

In the early days I started off with a Nikonos II and a bulb flash and moved onto a Nikonos III with an electronic flash and a 28 mm lens finally ending up with the ultimate 15 mm Nikonos lens and viewfinder.

This served me very well and gave very pleasing results. I attended various courses with Martin Edge and also some photographic trips and saw how popular the Subal set up was with the photographers. It was on one of these trips to Sipadan that Martin loaned me his Subal housing with a Nikon 801 and a 60mm lens.

After a short time in the water with this set up I realised that I was hooked on the system. I found that my images had improved with just one roll of film. On my return from this trip it was straight into Steve at Ocean Optics to purchase a Subal with the various ports and attachments for the Nikon F90X. I find the handling of this system easy and compact in the water.

I have tried to use all the advice, help and techniques that I have been given on these courses, trips and at the BSoUP meetings to improve my images.

Since changing to the Subal system using a SB26 flash in a custom made housing and the 16mm fish eye, 60mm macro and a 105 mm macro, I find this covers every aspect of the type of photography I enjoy. My photography has vastly improved with the ultimate accolade of winning the Diver Magazine Best Beginner Trophy at the BSoUP Best Beignner's competition.

To see my name joining the long list of famous previous winners was so satisfying and rewarding for all the years I have spent photographing in various spots around the world.

Mike Maloney Slide 1. A shoal of Head-band butterfly fish taken in Thailand using a 60mm AF Nikkor macro lens.
Mike Maloney Slide 2. A shoal of Gold spot emperors taken in Sipadan, using a 16 mm AF Nikkor fish-eye lens.
Mike Maloney Slide 3. A Scorpion fish taken in Sipadan using a 60 mm AF Nikkor macro lens.
Mike Maloney Slide 4. A pair of Barracuda taken in Sipadan using a 105 mm AF Nikkor lens.
Mike Maloney Slide 5. A Clown anemone fish taken in Sipadan using a 105 AF Nikkor macro lens.
Mike Maloney Slide 6. A Coral Grouper taken in Sipadan using a 60 mm AF Nikkor macro lens.
BSoUP Beginners Portfolio Competition

XHTML Validator


Top of page