The British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP)
Inspiring and informing underwater photographers since 1967

© Images and articles on this website are the copyright of the photographers and authors.





About BSoUP : Code of Conduct : Competitions : Constitution : Contact us : Courses
Cover shots : Directions : Glossary : HistoryMagazine : Meetings : Members websites
: Privacy Policy : Programme : Site Index

BSoUP's Sponsors

Kungkungan Bay Resort

Winning Imaes by Paul Colley

Cameras Underwater - Sponsor of the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition 2015 - 2018 and BIUPC 2015 and 2016

Brtish Divers Marine Life Rescue - Sponsors of BSoUP / DIVER Print Competition 2017

Carpe Diem, Sponsors of BUIPC 2017


Diver Magazine - Sponsor of the Annual Beginners Portfolio Competition and the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition

DiveQuest - Sponsor of the Underwater Excellence

BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition 2009

Organised by the British Society of Underwater Photographers in association with DIVER Magazine

The London International Dive Show, ExCel, 28th-29th March 2009


Advanced Oversea Prints

Malcolm Nobbs - Winner

Winner - Oceanic Whitetip Shark by Malcolm Nobbs
Winner - Oceanic Whitetip Shark by Malcolm Nobbs

Malcolm lives in Folkestone in the southeast of England and used to have no interest in diving whatsoever. However his wife Eve did and in 1994 he reluctantly joined her on a Try Dive. To his amazement he thoroughly enjoyed it and was soon assuring everyone that he had always wanted to dive. Keen to capture memories of his underwater dives, he initially shot video but in 2003 purchased an Olympus C5050 compact digital camera and was immediately hooked by the challenge of stills photography.

This shot of an Oceanic Whitetip Shark was taken at a depth of about 5 metres, in deep open water in The Bahamas with a Nikon D200 digital SLR on Aperture priority using a 12-24mm Nikkor lens at 12mm focal length and two Inon Z-240 strobes on low manual settings. ISO 100, shutter speed 1/125th Aperture F5.6.


BSoUP / DIVER Print Competition Winners  
(more recent results can be found in the competition galleries)  
Results 2017 Results 2012
Results 2016 Results 2011
Results 2015 Results 2010
Results 2014 Results 2009
Results 2013  

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Top of page